Subject Guides

Global Management

Databases, websites, and books that cover global (international) business.

Guide Contents

Country & Industry Information in Databases

Business Source Ultimate
To access country reports, go to the Publication Type box and use the pull-down to select Country Reports, then type your country in the search box. Can also be used to get articles.
Also includes financial data, case studies, investment research reports, industry reports, market research reports, country reports, company profiles, and SWOT analyses. Coverage: 1866-present.
Nexis Uni
NexisUni provides access to 15,000+ news, business and legal sources. If a sign-in button appears, click the button for access.
Includes full-text access to thousands of news sources in the U.S. and abroad back to the 1970s; articles and data on businesses, corporations, industries and markets in the U.S. and abroad; magazines and trade journals; biographical information and special directories; legal documents, including U.S. Federal and State court cases, and law reviews from the late 18th century to present.
World Development Indicators
Contains statistical data for over 800 development indicators and time series data from 1960 for over 220 countries and country groups. Data includes social, economic, financial, natural resources, and environmental indicators. See the Data Manual for information on what is covered.
Works best with the Firefox browser. For earlier years, see Bartle Library CD-ROMs, HC59 .W6572.

Country & Market Information

MarketLine Advantage
Market data can be obtained by using the pulldown under Databases to select Industries and then Consumer Data Analytics. There are breakdowns and forecasts of data by country and by type of product.
Covers industry and company profiles, case study reports, financial deals articles, and country reports.

U .S Bilateral Relations Fact Sheets Published by the State Department, this series covers information on the people, history, government, political conditions, economy and foreign relations of most countries.

Export.gov Particularly useful links are listed under the How to Export section. Trade leads and export guides can be found under the Market Intelligence tab.

globalEDGE Click on the Global Insights link to get to Country Commercial Guides and more. The Tools and Data tab will take you to the Market Potential Index (MPI) for Emerging Markets.

Europa World Year Book e-book Includes essays on information such as industry, government, communications, and population.

International Consumer Markets e-book

National Trade Estimate Report on Foreign Trade Barriers e-book

A Resource Guide on Doing Business in the Middle East Somewhat generic but has useful general information.